EWHA Portal

Ewha W.UEwha W.U

Open Search
Open Mobile Menu

Ewha W.U

nav bar
Ewha University

College News

Ewha University Library was awarded the Award of the Speaker of National Assembly

  • Date2020.10.01
  • 1166

Ewha University Library (Director Professor Mi-Kyeong Cha) won the Award of the Speaker of National Assembly at the 18th Annual Meeting and the Conference of the Korean Association For Research Information, held at the National Assembly Library on September 10 (Thursday).

The Award of the Speaker of National Assembly is given to institutions that have contributed to sharing academic information, such as promoting the use of the National Assembly's Digital Library, participating in projects run by the Association, and allowing to use materials under a Creative Commons license. This year, three institutions, including the Supreme Court Library of Korea, Daejeon Hanbat Library, and Ewha University Library. Among them, Ewha University Library was the only university library that won the award.

In April 2011, Ewha Womans University signed an agreement with the National Assembly Library, which enables bot institutions to share academic information build up cooperation system. Since then, the users of each institution can access to both institutions’ academic information and papers.

Ewha Womans University Library won the Korea Library Award (2019) for its efforts to enhance libraries. In addition, for its contribution to sharing academic information and advancing the domestic library information system, the Library has won several rewards until now, including the Award of the President of KERIS(2018), the Award of the Ministry of Education(2015). The Library has been selected as the most excellent Foreign Research Information Center for three consecutive years.

The Korean Association For Research Information, established in 2002, is a cooperative body of digital libraries. As of July 2020, 4,071 member institutions have signed an agreement with the National Assembly Library for cooperation in academic information. The member institutions include university libraries, public libraries, local governments, local councils, and research institutes. The members have contributed greatly to resolving the digital divide between regions and social status, sharing academic information and enhancing digital libraries.


 Under the theme of “Artificial Intelligence, the Future and Innovation of Libraries," the Annual Meeting and the Conference where the awards ceremony took place was held online due to the current pandemic and was live-streamed on YouTube.