EWHA Portal

Ewha W.UEwha W.U

Open Search
Open Mobile Menu

Ewha W.U

nav bar
Ewha University

Ewha News

Seven Project Teams of Ewha Selected for the Fourth Phase of “Brain Korea 21 Project” by the Ministry of Education

  • 작성처
  • Date2020.10.15
  • 5113

Three education research groups and four education research teams from Ewha were selected for the fourth phase of “Brain Korea 21 (BK21) Project” organized by the Ministry of Education. Through this selection, the school secured the funds to train professional research personnel by providing research scholarships to support graduate students and personnel expenses for new researchers over the next seven years. Ewha’s selection demonstrates the strength of new technology creation areas, which will help to transition Korea’s development strategy from catching up with advanced economies into becoming a leading economy itself, in addition to creative areas like the humanities and social science and convergence areas including cultural contents, design, Bio Information Technology (BIT) and Nano Information Technology (NIT).

The Ewha project teams selected for BK21 are as follows: Three research groups consisting of (1) ITI (Innovation, Technology, Inclusion) Competent Social Welfare Leaders for Future Social Value (Director: Professor Ick-Joong Chung); (2) Intelligent IIoT convergence technology center for human-centric smart factory (Director: Professor Hyesook Lim); and (3) Education Research Center for 4IR-based Health Care (Director: Professor Oran Kwon). There are also four research teams including (1) Project Team for the Research and Education of Regional History and World History for the Future of Coexistence(Leader: Professor Dongju HAM); (2) Mathematical Science Team for Women Leaders of the 4th Industrial Revolution (Leader: Professor Jae Hyouk Lee); (3) Education and research team for development of LOHAS foods and bioactive ingredients (Leader: Professor Myong-Soo Chung); and (4) Human-AI UX Design Education Team (Leader: Professor Han Young Ryoo).  

(From left) Professor Ick-Joong Chung, Professor Hyesook Lim, Professor Oran Kwon, Professor Dong Ju Ham, Professor Jae Hyouk Lee, Professor Myong-Soo Chung, Professor Han Young Ryoo

The Ministry of Education and the National Research Foundation of Korea have been operating the BK21 Project since 1999 to strengthen the educational and research capabilities of graduate schools and to foster future generations of researchers. The project, which follows the third-phase project “BK21 PLUS,” is a large-scale government-funded project aimed at supporting 408 billion won annually over the next seven years and fostering 19,000 master- and doctorate-level research personnel every year. From this November, Ewha's research groups and teams, which have been preliminarily selected for the fourth phase of BK21, plan to carry out innovative research activities in response to social changes in a flexible manner after a deliberation process.