EWHA Portal

Ewha W.UEwha W.U

Open Search
Open Mobile Menu

Ewha W.U

nav bar
Ewha University

College News

Ewha Students win Bronze Award at the 2021 BOK Currency Policy Contest

  • Date2021.08.27
  • 444

(From the left)  Sae-byul Lee, Yeon-joo Shin, Si-yoon Lee, and Seong-eun Kim

Recently, a group of Ewha students won a bronze medal at the ‘2021 Monetary Policy Context’ held by the Bank of Korea. The contest aims to raise the understanding of university students on monetary policies. 66 teams from 37 universities from all over the nation participated in this year’s contest, and only 6 teams could enter the final round.

The group of Ewha students named their team ‘Ji-geum-lee-dae-ro', meaning both ‘road to Ewha’ and ‘maintaining this interest rate’ as a double entendre. Upon deciding on the course of monetary policy in August, they have selected to discuss on “the Process and Effects of Deepening Financial Inequality due to Easing Monetary Policy Environment Following the COVID-19 Recession.” Moreover, they have compared interest rating to triathlon in price, finance and economic stability, making it a creative and deliverable announcement.

Seong-eun Kim(Economics, 16), Sae-byul Lee(Economics, 18), Yeonju-Shin(Economics, 19), and Si-yoon Lee(International Studies, 19) from the team are all members of the SEED, one of Ewha’s Academic Research Clubs. The four members have been studying together within the club, including analysis and writing of research papers and debates. Compared to other participants the team lacked preparation time, yet they were able to make good results as they were already cooperating with each other from the club activities. Sae-byul Lee(Economics, 18) had mentioned that, “this competition was very meaningful as we could broaden our perspectives toward real-life economy, more than what we have learned about economics through textbooks. I believe that this experience will be much helpful not only in my future career but also in my real life as a member of this society.” The students also delivered their message of thanks to professor Byung-hoon Seok of Ewha, who had taught and advised them from the first to the final round.